Sri Lanka appoints a special commission to investigate corruption: Cabinet

(From L-R) Hussain Sadique –Chairman, SLRA / Group Director, Hameedia, Mano Tittawella –Senior Advisor, Ministry of Finance & Media, Ajith Amarasekera- Director, SLRA / CEO Swarnamahal, Leonard Michael Perera, Founder Convenor & Head of Business, SLRA Dinesh Perera-Director, SLRA / Deputy Director, Abans

Jan 22, 2015 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s cabinet has given approval to establish a committee against corruption, cabinet spokesperson minister Rajitha Senarathne said today. The committee will be look into the items that have been brought for distribution during the presidential election, illegal acquisition of lands, corruption and irregularities of EFF and Colombo Stock and assets, liabilities of suspected large scale frauds and take appropriate action against such acts. Sri Lanka’s Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe will heads the committee.

The committee will consist Minister Mangala Samaraweera, Minister Patali Champika, Minister Rauf Hakeem , Member of Parliament R Sambadan , Member of Parliament Anura Kumara , Parliamentarian M A Sumanthiran, leader of the Democratic Party Sarath Fonseka , Jayampathi Wickremaratne, J C Wekiamuna and Malik Samaeawicrema.