Sri Lanka elect to bat in final India one-dayer

Minister appoints Dr Swaminathan to IPACSL as Chairperson

February 8, 2009 (AFP) – Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat in the fifth and final one-day international against India here on Sunday. Umpires: Brian Jerling (RSA) and Tyron Wijewardene (SRI)

TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

India, leading 4-0, made two changes from the side which won the fourth match by 67 runs here on Thursday, bringing in all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and paceman Lakshmipathy Balaji in place of Pragyan Ojha and Praveen Kumar.

Jadeja is making his debut, while Balaji returns to the one-day side after three years.

The hosts replaced paceman Dilhara Fernando and all-rounder Angelo Mathews with unorthodox spinner Ajantha Mendis and Thilan Thushara.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Yusuf Pathan, Ishant Sharma, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Irfan Pathan.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Chamara Kapugedera, Thilina Kandamby, Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thush