Sri Lanka postal ballots favour Rajapaksa

Sri Lanka's Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe arrives with flowers to receive blessings at the Gangaramaya Buddhist Temple, Colombo, Sri Lanka on Wednesday 4 April 2018. On wednesday (4), Wickremesinghe survived a no-confidence motion in the Sri Lankan parliament with a 46 vote majority after a 12-hour debate with 122 MPs voted in his support while 76 MPs voting to remove the prime minister. (Photo by Tharaka Basnayaka/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

Jan 27, 2010 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s President Mahinda Rajapaksa led in postal ballots of mostly state workers with opposition candidate Sarath Fonseka getting a lead in only districts in which results were declared. Common opposition candidate Fonseka led in postal ballots in Jaffna in the north and Batticaloa in the East with postal ballots in ten districts declared.

Postal ballots in Moneragala, Puttalam, Hambantota, Galle, Jaffna, Trinco, Matara, Matale,Badulla, Batticaloa, Digamadulla and Kaluthara have been declared. Polls closed with monitors saying more than 70 percent of registered electors voted in the South and around 20 percent in the North and around 50 percent in the East.