Sri Lanka’s Jayawardene among top nominees for ICC awards

Standing left to right – Mr. Dinesh Jebamani (Chief Manager Liability Product Management and New Age Media – Seylan Bank), Mr.Sudesh Peiris (Senior Manager – Digital Banking Channels – Seylan Bank), Ms. S.Senevirathne (Representative of the Revenue Department – Western Province), Mr. Tilan Wijeyesekera (Deputy General Manager – Retail Banking – Seylan Bank) and Mr. Malik Wickremanayaka (Deputy General Manager – Operations – Seylan Bank)

NEW DELHI, September 8, 2008 (AFP) – West Indian Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene and South African Dale Steyn are set to dominate the fifth ICC awards night on Wednesday.

The three were nominated for both the cricketer of the year and the Test player of the year awards that will be announced at a gala dinner in Dubai, the headquarters of the International Cricket Council.

South African captain Graeme Smith was the fourth nominee for the cricketer of the year, while team-mate Jacques Kallis completed the list for the Test player of the year.

None of the four nominees for the cricketer of the year have won the award before, meaning a new name will be inscribed on the prestigious Garfield Sobers Trophy.

Past winners include India’s Rahul Dravid (2004), England?s Andrew Flintoff and Kallis (joint winners in 2005), and Australia captain Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007).
The nominees were announced by ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat here on Monday.

India’s Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been nominated for two prizes, the one-day player of the year and the Twenty20 International performance of the year after leading India to victory in the inaugural T20 World C