Sri Lanka's Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe arrives with flowers to receive blessings at the Gangaramaya Buddhist Temple, Colombo, Sri Lanka on Wednesday 4 April 2018. On wednesday (4), Wickremesinghe survived a no-confidence motion in the Sri Lankan parliament with a 46 vote majority after a 12-hour debate with 122 MPs voted in his support while 76 MPs voting to remove the prime minister. (Photo by Tharaka Basnayaka/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

Jan 11, 2013 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s parliament has voted to oust chief justice Shirani Bandaranayake in on sharply partisan lines with courts and the opposition parties saying the impeachment process was illegal. Ruling party members however went ahead saying the court ruling amounted to a re-writing of the constitution and not just an interpretation of it.

Chief Justice Bandaranayake has denied the charges against her and asked for an independent tribunal where due process and rules of natural justice prevail.

On Friday a group of lawyers called upon the Supreme Court not to accept any new appointee saying it amounted to disregarding their own ruling.

The parliament voted 155 for 49 against with 20 abstentious, reporters said.

The vote was delayed at the last minute when the main opposition objected saying a resolution to call for President Mahinda Rajapaksa to make a speech formally was not before house.

Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa, a brother President Rajapaksa ruled after a ten minute recess that the vote could be taken.

Crackers went off in the environs of the parliament.

Earlier in the day pro-government backers of the move to oust the chief bussed to the capital from vario