Aravinda to Chair new selection committee for Sri Lanka Cricket, Sanga included

Mar 08, 2016 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s Sports Minister has appointed a new National Cricket Selection Committee with immediate effect following recent failures encountered by the team, a Ministry statement said.

The committee will be chaired by Aravinda De Silva while Kumar Sangakkara, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Lalith Kaluperuma and Ranjith Madurasinghe will serve as members.

The appointment of the National Selection Committee was carried out by the Minister citing recent failures encountered by the National Team in their tours to New Zealand, India, Asia Cup in Bangladesh and the inconsistency of selection criteria, the statement said.