JVP leader Anura Kumara tops most active MP rankings: Manthri.lk

Dec 21, 2016 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s Marxist JVP leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake has topped the most active Parliamentarians ranking of the year, a list compiled by manthri.lk website showed.

The website launched in 2013 by Verité Research tracks and ranks parliament representatives in order of their performance.

As per the data analyzed using the Parliament Hansard, starting from September 2015 to end August 2016, Anura Kumara was the most active MP followed by Buddhika Pathirana of UNP.

For the twelve months period, Chairman of the COPE and JVP MP Sunil Handunnetti received the 3rd place in the rankings while Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe settled at 4th place.

JVP MPs Dr. Nalinda Jayatissa and Bimal Rathnayake rank fifth and sixth places respectively.

The next four places go to Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake, former Finance Minister Bandula Gunawardana, UNP Deputy Minister Ajith Mannapperuma and Dinesh Gunawardena from the joint opposition.

Manthri.lk uses a quantitative system of ranking where a unit of productive time is assigned to each type of parliamentary activity which includes nearly 30 different types of activity that take place in parliament.

It includes adjournment motions, written questions, petition, bill debates, and private members’ bills, as well as their involvement in Consultative Committees.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments