Sri Lanka cabinet takes time to finalize 20A; local government election under new system


May 14, 2015 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s cabinet has appointed a ministerial sub committee to study the 20th amendment proposals and to identify the principles laid down by each party, cabinet spokesman Rajitha Senaratne said.

Sarath Amunugama, S.B. Dissanayake, Lakshman Kiriella, Kabir Hashim, Champika Ranawaka, Rauff Hakeem, Gayantha Karunathilaka, Palani Digambaran and Rishad Bathiudeen has been appointed as the members of the sub committee.

The cabinet has also decided not to extend the terms of local government bodies since the new mixed electoral system will be put in place in the future.

Official term of 322 out of 335 local government bodies are scheduled to end before October 2015.