Sri Lanka CCC appoints Rajendra Theagarajah as new chairman

June 30, 2017 (LBO) – The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce appointed Rajendra Theagarajah as its new Chairman during its 178th AGM held in Colombo, Thursday.

Theagarajah, a veteran banker, succeeds the outgoing Chairman Samantha Ranatunga, who led the Chamber during the past two years.

He functioned as the Vice Chairman, Deputy Vice Chairman, Board Member and also served as a member of the Chamber Committee for several years.

Dr. Hans Wijayasuriya was appointed as the Vice Chairman of the Chamber, while Vish Govindasamy was appointed as the Deputy Vice Chairperson for the year 2017 and 2018 financial year.

The Chamber also appointed several new members to its nine member ‘Board of Directors’, which consists of Chairman, Vice Chairperman, Deputy Vice Chairman, CEO and five ‘Directors’.

Accordingly, the nine member Board of the Chamber includes Rajendra Theagaraja, chairman of the Ceylon Chamber and joint deputy chairperson of the Cargill’s Bank; Dr. Hans Wijayasuriya, vice chairman of the Chamber and Group chief executive officer, South Asia Region/corporate executive, vice president of Axiata Group BHD; Vish Govindasamy, deputy vice chairman of the Chamber and group managing director of Sunshine Holdings; Duminda Hulangamuwa, partner and head of Tax Services of Ernst & Young; Hiran Cooray, chairman, Jetwing Group; Krishan Balendra, executive director, John Keells Holdings PLC; Pravir Samarasinghe, director/group CEO, Overseas Realty (Ceylon) Ltd; Husein Esufally, chairman, Hemas Holdings PLC and Dhara Wijayatilake, CEO of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce.

Krishen Balendra, Pravir Samarasinghe and Husein Esufally are the new members in the Board.

Binod Chaudhary, who was listed as the first and only billionaire in Nepal by the Forbes Magazine, and who is also the President of the CG Corp|Global Chaudhary Group graced the occasion as the Chief Guest of the event.