Sri Lanka Central Bank issues a new series of 10 rupee coins

Nov 18, 2014 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s Central Bank yesterday issued a new series of 25 coins of 10 rupee denomination in order to recognize and portray unique characteristics and/or iconic landmarks and/or special features of each administrative district of Sri Lanka. The new coins would be released via the banks and the Central Bank Provincial Offices for circulation, the bank said. Sri Lanka has 25 administrative districts.

The first set of coins presented by the Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, Nivard Cabraal to President Mahinda Rajapaksa yesterday in an event at Central Bank premises.