Sri Lanka expands diplomatic relations in Africa

July 05, 2012 (LBO) – Sri Lanka will start diplomatic relations with 15 African countries, cabinet spokesman Keheliya Rambukwella said. Diplomatic relations will be established with the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, Republic of Malawi, Burkina Faso, Republic of Chad, Republic of Djibouti, Central African Republic, Gabonese Republic, Republic of Cameroon, Republic of Cote d’lvoire, Republic of Equatorial Guinea, Republic of Gambia, Republic of Cape Verde, Republic of Sierra Leonne, Togolese Republic and the Republic of Niger.

There are 62 countries in Africa and Sri Lanka has resident missions in Egypt, Kenya, South Africa and Libya which are accredited to other countries.

The mission in Libya is temporary closed due to unrest.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments