Sri Lanka Parliament converts to Constitutional Assembly, members appointed


Apr 05, 2016 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s new Parliament converted into a constitutional assembly for the first time today with the aim of enacting a new constitution.

The Speaker Karu Jayasuriya is also the Chairman of the new Constitutional Assembly.
buy augmentin online buy augmentin online no prescription

The resolution presented by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe to convert parliament into a Constitutional Assembly in January governs the necessary framework for its functioning.

Accordingly, seven Deputy Chairmen and 21 steering committee members were elected by the Constitutional Assembly today.

The motion to appoint Deputy Chairmen was presented by leader of the house Lakshman Kiriella and seconded by TNA Parliamentarian M. A. Sumanthiran.

No objections were raised by the joint opposition when appointing members for the Constitutional Assembly.

Constitutional Assembly will be meeting tomorrow for the future proceedings and the quorum for meetings of the Constitutional Assembly will be twenty.

Prime Minister informed Parliament that appointments for sub committees will be carried out after receiving the report from the Committee on Constitutional Reforms Public Representation before end April.

Constitutional Assembly new appointments

Constitutional Assembly Chairman: Karu Jayasuriya

Deputy Chairmen:
1. Thilanga Sumathipala
2. A Adeikalanathan
3. Kabir Hashim
4. Sudarshani Fernandopulle
5. Tilak Marapana
6. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena
7. Nalinda Jayatissa

Steering Committee Chairman: Ranil Wickremesinghe

Steering Committee Members:
1. Lakshman Kiriella
2. Nimal Siripala De Silva
3. Rauff Hakeem
4. Wijedasa Rajapaksa
5. Susil Premajayantha
6. Rishad Bathiudeen
7. Patali Champika Ranawaka
8. D.M. Swaminathan
9. Mano Ganesan
10. Malik Samarawickrama
11. R.Sambanthan
12. Anura Kumara Dissanayake
13. Dilan Perera
14. Dinesh Gunawardena
15. Jayampathi Wickremarathne
16. M Wickramaratne
17. M. A. Sumanthiran
18. Thusitha Wijemanne
19. Bimal Rathnayake
20. Prasanna Ranatunga
21. Douglas Devananda

Related: PM presents motion to convert parliament into a Constitutional Assembly

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments