Sri Lanka Presidential Election: Gotabaya requests supporters to celebrate victory peacefully

Nov 17, 2019 (LBO) – Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) requests their supporters to celebrate the victory peacefully, releasing a statement, party’s Media Spokesman Dullas Alahapperuma said.

Alahapperuma urged party supporters to commemorate the victory without harming the ideals introduced to the Sri Lankan election culture.

Releasing the final report of the Presidential Election 2019, the Elections Commission declared the following results:

Gotabaya Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna) – 6,924,255 votes (52.25%)
Sajith Premadasa (New Democratic Front) – 5,564,239 votes (41.99%)

Accordingly, Gotabaya Rajapaksa won the Presidential election with a majority of 1,360,016 votes.

President-elect Gotabaya Rajapaksa will sworn in as the 7th President of Sri Lanka tomorrow (18) morning in Anuradhapura.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments