Sri Lanka proceeds with expropriations

Nov 24, 2011 (LBO) – Sri Lanka has appointed competent authorities, a ministerial committee and a three member compensation committee to deal with 37 expropriated assets and enterprises.

It is made up of foreign employment minister Dilan Perera, minor export crop promotion minister Reginald Cooray, productivity promotion minister Lakshman Seneviratne, deputy finance minister Geethanjana Gunawardena.

Cabinet spokesman minister Keheliya Rambukwelle said the competent authorities are immediately effective.

Kalinga Indatissa, an attorney, has been appointed competent authority for Lanka Tractors (properties in Pettah and Narahenpita), Chalmers Granaries (in Pettah), Ceylinco Leisure Properties Ltd (Kollupitiya) and Intertrade Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Fort).

Senaka Walgampaya, a lawyer has been appointed for Hotel Developers Lanka.

District secretary, Hambantota has been appointed competent authority for Pelwatte Sugar, the district secretary, Moneragala for Sevenagala Sugar and the district secretary, Badulla, for property of Colombo Commercial Company in Badulla.

Tuly Cooray has been appointed for other expropriated assets, which are closed board of investment app

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments