Sri Lanka reshuffles cabinet, new ministers appointed

Jan 28, 2013 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s President Mahinda Rajapaksa has re-shuffled the cabinet appointing 10 new ministers, two project ministers and six deputy ministers, the state information office said. The ministry of petroleum has gone to Anura Yapa, power to Pavithra Wanniarachchi and technology and research to former power minister Champak Ranawaka.

Laxman Yapa had been appointed minister of investment promotion, Laxman Seneviratne minister of Sugar Industries and Duminda Dissanayaka, education services, Vijith Wiyayamuni Soyza wild life conservation, Basheer Segudawood, productivity improvement.

Jayaratne Herath has been appointed minister of botanical gardens and public enterprises.

Nirmala Kothalawala has been named project minister for highways, Rohitha Abeygunawardana project minister of ports, S M Chandrasena and M L A M Hibullah deputy ministers of economic development. Update II