Sri Lanka reshuffles cabinet of ministers


May 22, 2017 (LBO) – Sri Lanka reshuffled its cabinet of ministers Monday morning, with nine cabinet ministers and a state minister taking oaths.

“Nine Cabinet Ministers and a State Minister took oaths in their new portfolios a while ago,” President Maithripala Sirisena’s twitter account announced.

The changes announced were:

Hon. Mangala Samaraweera – Minister of Finance & Mass Media
Hon. S.B. Dissanayake – Minister of Social Empowerment, Welfare & Kandyan Heritage
Hon. W.D.J. Seneviratne – Minister of Labour, Trade Union Relations & Sabaragamu Development
Hon. Ravi Karunanayake – Minister of Foreign Affairs
Hon. Mahinda Samarasinghe – Minister of Ports & Shipping
Hon. Gayantha Karunatilake – Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms
Hon. Arjuna Ranatunga – Minister of Petroleum Resources Development
Hon. Chandima Weerakkody – Minister of Skills Development & Vocational Training
Hon. Thilak Janaka Marapana – Minister of Development Assingments
Hon. Mahinda Amaraweera – State Minister of Mahaweli Development

President Maithripala Sirisena had invited cabinet, state and deputy ministers to report at the Presidential Secretariat by morning.

Ministers said that final discussions between the President and the Prime Minister regarding the cabinet reshuffle were held Sunday afternoon.

Meanwhile, President will leave for Australia on a four-day stat visit Monday afternoon.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments