Lanka Business Online

Sri Lanka to conduct feasibility studies for 5 LRTs excluded by JICA


Oct 19, 2016 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s cabinet has approved conducting of detailed feasibility studies for five remaining light railway transits (LRTs) with an estimated cost of 300 million rupees.

Megapolis Ministry has initially identified 7 lines to be constructed in the Colombo district to cater to the transport demand while leaving provisions for further extensions.

Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) has already agreed to conduct a detailed feasibility study for two lines namely RTS 4 and a part of RTS 1 excluding Bambalapitiya connection.

RTS 01 is a 15 kilometer long line which covers Fort, Kollupitiya, Bambalapitiya, Borella, Union Place and Maradana.

10 kilometer long RTS 4 lies from Borella to Battaramulla and all the way to Malabe.

As per the cabinet decision, JICA will implement the two lines under their financing on priority basis.

After the completion of feasibility studies for 5 remaining LRTs, the government is to invite private sector to invest in them under the BOO/BOT/BOOT (design, built, operate, transfer or own) basis.

The government will also have to carry out the feasibility study for the balance part of RTS 1 which was excluded by JICA study.

Megapolis Ministry said if assessment feasibility study of the part of RTS 1 excluded by JICA is considered as impractical it may be required to assess the entire line, despite overlapping with JICA intervention.

The Ministry is to call for expressions of interest internationally for short listing consultants to carry out the proposed feasibility study.

The cabinet approval has also been granted to allocate funds from the consolidated funds of the ministry for 2017, to meet the cost of the procurement.

Five LRTs to be studied for feasibility:

RTS 2 (11.5km): Fort, Maradana, Mattakkuliya, Peliyagoda
RTS 3 (10km): Dematagoda, Borella, Kirulapona, Havelock Town, Bambalapitiya
RTS 5 (9.6km): Malabe – Kottawa
RTS 6 (6km): Malabe – Kaduwela
RTS 7 (13km): Peliyagoda – Kadawatha

Exit mobile version