Sri Lanka to field against India in World T20 final

DHAKA, April 6, 2014 (AFP) – Sri Lanka’s stand-in captain Lasith Malinga won the toss in the World Twenty20 final in Dhaka on Sunday and sent India in to bat. Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG) and Richard Kettleborough (ENG) The start was delayed by 40 minutes due to rain, but will be played over the full duration of 20-overs-a-side at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium.

If Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s Indians win, they will become the first team to hold all three major limited-overs titles, having won the 50-over World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy last year.

Sri Lanka will seek an end to an inexplicable losing streak in title matches, after being beaten twice in the World Cup finals in 2007 and 2011 and the World Twenty20 finals in 2009 and 2012.

Sri Lanka’s T20 captain Dinesh Chandimal once again opted out of the game, as he had done in Thursday’s semi-final against the West Indies, leaving Malinga to lead the Islanders.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma.

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (capt), Kusal

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments