Sri Lanka’s Central Bank Governor to resign

Jan 09, 2015 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s Central Bank Governor Ajith Nivard Cabraal has informed His Excellency the President that he wishes to resign from the post of Governor with immediate effect, in order that the new President may appoint a new Governor. The new President Maithripala Sirisena has obtained 6,217,162 votes or 51.28 percent of the total votes while his main opponent Mahinda Rajapaksa has bagged 5,768,090 votes or 47.58 percent of the total valid votes.

Cabraal was appointed as the Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka from 1 July 2006 to 30 June, 2010 and was re-appointed for a further period of six years from 1 July 2010 to 30 June 2016.