SriLankan Airlines gets new board and chairman

Apr 02, 2018 (LBO) – A new board of directors has been appointed to SriLankan Airlines with Ranjith Fernando as the Chairman.

Other Board members include Mano Thittawella, Susantha Katugampala, Dr. Roshan Perera and Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy.

The Government has appointed a Ministerial Subcommittee under Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and a top-level official committee headed by Treasury Secretary Dr R H S Samaratunga to recommend the strategy to revive the loss-making national carrier.

According to the latest fiscal management report of the Finance Ministry delays in the restructuring process have increased the burden of business loss to the organization.

The loss of the airline has increased to 28.4 billion rupees in review period of 2017 compared to loss of 12.6 billion rupees recorded in previous year,the report said.