Term of office for Sri Lanka’s President is five years: Supreme Court

President-of-Sri Lanka-Maithripala-Sirisena-1

Jan 15, 2018 (LBO) – Supreme Court has informed President Maithripala Sirisena that the duration of his term of office is five years, President’s Media Division said.

Last week, President sought determination from the Supreme Court on the duration of his term of office.

As per the 18th amendment to the constitution, a President was elected for a term of six years but it has been restricted to five years after the enactment of the 19th amendment.

Sri Lanka’s Bar Association, Attorney General’s Department among others made their submissions in the Supreme Court in this regard.

Supreme Court listed the case for January 11 and its determination communicated to the President on January 14.