President appoints committee to study Sri Lanka – Singapore FTA



Aug 11, 2018 (LBO) – President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed an independent committee comprising of five experts to study and report on the Free Trade Agreement signed with Singapore.

Former Vice Chancellor of the Colombo University, Professor W. D. Lakshman will chair this committee, media reports said, quoting President’s Media Division.

Other members include Professor Sirimevan Colombage from the Open University, Professor Ajitha Tennakoon from the Kelaniya University, Consultant Sanath Jayanetti and Former Assistant Governor of the Central Bank R. A. Jayatissa.

The committee is also expected to provide recommendations for the proposed national trade policy. Interested parties can submit their suggestions and concerns to the committee.

Related: Sri Lanka is monitoring Singapore FTA to address any issue: Prime Minister