Central Bank appoints a new member for monetary board

July 7, 2015 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s President Sirisena has appointed Chrishantha Priyange Richard Perera as a Member of the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka with effect from June 24, 2015 in terms of Section 8(2) (c) of the Monetary Law Act.

Perera has previously served as Chairman of the Sri Lanka Tea Board, Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation, Public Entrerprises Reforms Commission and Bank of Ceylon. He retired as Chairman of Forbes & Walkers Ltd. and its subsidiary companies in June 2005 after almost 44 years of continuous service in the Group.

Currently, Perera holds directorships in several public listed and private companies, including the post of Chairman in some of these institutions, the bank said in a press release.

He has also served as a Committee Member of The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, The Planters’ Association of Ceylon and on the Committee of Management of The Ceylon Planters’ Provident Society.