Parliament dissolved: General elections on Apr 25th


Mar 03, 2020 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s President Gotabaya Rajapaksa dissolved Parliament last night calling for a General Election is to be held on April 25, 2020.

The new Parliament is to meet on May 14 with nominations to be called between 12 and 19 March 2020. 

The Gazette notification was issued by the President under powers vested in him under by Article 70 of the Constitution and under the provisions of the Parliamentary Elections Act No. 1 of 1981. 

Under the 19th Amendment, the President has been vested with the power to dissolve the parliament after four and a half years of its 5-year term is completed. 

A total of 196 MPs will be directly elected from the 25 districts to Parliament while 29 will be appointed from the National List.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments