Sri Lanka bat against Pakistan in second Test

COLOMBO, August 14, 2014 (AFP) – Sri Lanka’s captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to bat in the second Test against Pakistan in Colombo on Thursday, the final one for the home team’s retiring Mahela Jayawardene. Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG) and Richard Illingworth (ENG)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM) Sri Lanka made two changes from the side that won the first Test in Galle by seven wickets to take the lead in the two-match series.

Left-arm seamer Chanaka Welegedara and batsman Lahiru Thirimanne replaced the injured duo of Shaminda Eranga and Kithuruwan Vithanage.

Pakistan left out lanky fast bowler Mohammad Talha to play left-arm seamer Wahab Riaz in what are expected to be good batting conditions at the Sinhalese Sports Club.

Former captain Jayawardene will quit Test cricket after the match, but will continue playing one-day internationals until next year’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kaushal Silva, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Chanaka Welegedara, Dhammika Prasad.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul Haq (capt), Ahmed She

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments