Sri Lanka name T20 squad for Australia series

July 30, 2011 (AFP) – Sri Lanka Cricket on Saturday named a 16-man squad for the Twenty20 games against Australia next month. The teams will play two Twenty20 games on August 6 and 8 at the newly-built Pallakelle International Stadium in the central town of Kandy, which will also host the opening one-dayer and the second Test match.

All-rounder Angelo Mathews got the vice-captain job, after being overlooked for the post during the recent tour of England.

Selectors also named uncapped right-arm bowler Shaminda Eranga and all-rounder Dilruwan Perera.

The itinerary also includes a five one-day game series and three Tests. The Test and one-day squads will be announced next month.

Squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (vice-captain), Jeevan Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Thisara Perera, Dhammika Prasad, Suranga Lakmal, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Chamara Silva and Shaminda Eranga.