Sri Lanka’s new president appoints new secretaries including defence

Jan 10, 2015 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s newly elected president Maithripala Sirisena has appointed two new secretaries, official government news portal said. Former public administration ministry secretary P.B. Abeykoon has been appointed as the new secretary to the president replacing Lalith Weerathunga.

Environment and renewable energy ministry secretary B.M.U.D. Basnayake has been appointed as the new defence secretary replacing Gotabaya Rajapaksa.