CA Sri Lanka Annual Report Awards: ComBank crowned winner, Hayleys second place

Dec 04, 2019 (LBO) – Commercial Bank was crowned the winner at the 55th Annual Report Awards winning the coveted ‘Cyril Gardiner Memorial Trophy’ for ‘Overall Excellence in Financial Reporting’ at the grand finale held yesterday at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo.

Hayleys PLC came in second place by winning the silver award, while the bronze award was shared by Hatton National Bank PLC and L B Finance PLC under the same category.

The Annual Report Awards organized by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka (CA Sri Lanka), is recognized as one of the country’s most prestigious and oldest corporate events which promotes transparency, accountability, social responsibility and corporate governance among the diverse business sector.

The event was held under the patronage of Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, State Minister of Internal Trade and Consumer Welfare and Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy, Governor of Central Bank.

A total of 130 companies ranging from conglomerates, multinationals to small time community groups vied for honors at this year’s competition.

Commercial Bank also bagged the gold under the ‘Management Commentary Award’ while Hayleys won the silver award, and L B Finance came in third with the bronze award.

Union Assurance PLC won the gold award under ‘Corporate Social Responsibility Reporting Award’ category, while L B Finance won the silver and Aitken Spence PLC won the bronze.

The ‘Corporate Governance Disclosure Award’ was won by Commercial Bank, while Hatton National Bank came in second and Softlogic Life Insurance PLC came in third.

Organizations which have adopted integrated reporting were also honored at the grand finale with John Keells Holdings PLC winning gold under the ‘Integrated Reporting Award’ category, while Diesel & Motor Engineering PLC won silver and Softlogic Life Insurance won bronze.

The ‘Integrated Reporting: Best Disclosure on Capital Management’ gold award was won by L B Finance, while John keells Holdings won the silver and Diesel & Motor Engineering won bronze. Under the ‘Integrated Reporting: Best Disclosure on Business Model’ category, Commercial Bank won the gold award, while People’s Leasing & Finance PLC won the silver and John Keells Holdings won the bronze. Meanwhile, Hayleys won the gold award under ‘Integrated Reporting: Best Disclosure on Stakeholder Engagement’ category while Citizens Development Business Finance PLC won silver and Softlogic Life Insurance won bronze.

Under the sector awards, Hayleys won the ‘Lal Jayasundara Memorial Trophy’ under the ‘Diversified Holdings (Groups above 10 Subsidiaries)’ sector and the ‘Diversified Holdings (Groups up to 10 Subsidiaries)’ sector was won by Diesel & Motor Engineering PLC. Commercial Bank bagged the ‘Edmund J. Cooray Memorial Trophy’ under the banking institutions category.

Bank of Ceylon won the ‘Albert A. Page Memorial Trophy’ under the State Banks sector, while Lanka Hospitals Corporation PLC won the gold award under the Healthcare Institutions. Hayleys Advantis Limited won the Gold Award under the Service Organizations sector and Sri Lanka Telecom PLC bagged the gold award under the Telecommunication Companies sector.

United Motors Lanka PLC was adjudged the god award winner under the Motor Companies sector, while L B Finance won the gold award under the Finance Companies & Leasing Companies (Total Asset Above LKR 20 BN) sector. Sarvodaya Development Finance Limited was presented the gold award under the Finance Companies & Leasing Companies (Total Asset up to LKR 20 BN) and Singer (Sri Lanka) PLC won the gold under the Trading Companies sector.

Aitken Spence Hotel Holdings PLC and Nuwara Eliya Hotels Company PLC were joint gold winners under the Hotel Companies sector, and the gold award under the Plantation Companies sector was also jointly won by Kelani Valley Plantations PLC and Talawakelle Tea Estates PLC.

Royal Ceramics Lanka PLC bagged the gold award under Manufacturing Companies (Turnover Above LKR 5 BN) sector, while Samson International PLC and Tea Smallholder Factories PLC were joint gold award winners under the Manufacturing Companies (Turnover Up to LKR 5 BN) sector.

Union Assurance won the gold award under the Insurance Companies sector, while Ceylon Cold Stores PLC won the gold award under the Food & Beverages Companies sector. Sri Lanka Institute of Marketing was adjudged the gold winner under the Not-For-Profit Organizations (NPO) Including Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO) sector, while R. I. L Property PLC won the gold award under the Land & Property Companies sector.

The gold award under the Construction Companies sector was won by Access Engineering PLC and Laugfs Gas PLC won gold under the Power & Energy Companies sector.

LankaClear (Pvt) Limited won the gold award under the Small and Medium Sized Entities sector, while Asia Capital PLC won the gold award under the Investment Banking sector, while NSBM Green University Town won the gold award under the State Corporations & Statutory Boards sector.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments