Central Bank forms expert panel to shape economy’s monetary policy

January 16, 2007 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s Central Bank has handpicked few private sector professionals to lend a hand to shape the island’s monetary policy, governor Nivard Cabraal said Tuesday.

Economist A D V de S Indraratne will head the Monetary Policy Advisory Committee which also includes Sohli Captain, Cubby Wijetunga, Mahen Dayananda, Prithi Jayawardene, Yohan Perera and retired civil servant, R M B Senanayake.

Cabraal said the inaugural meeting will be held on January 18, the day the Central Bank announces its monetary policy decision for the month.

“This panel will give us some private sector input, which is important when we take monetary policy decisions,” Cabraal said.