Musical Chairs

(L-R) : Jeevith Senaratne, Director Operations - Star Garment Group; Shanaka Rabel, Group Chief Digital and Transformation Officer - Stretchline Holdings Ltd; Janaka Botejue, Chairman – Bernard Botejue Industries; Sanjeewa Kodikara, Chief Information Officer- Hirdaramani Group

May 17, 2007 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s Bank of Ceylon, Peoples’ Bank and Ceylon Electricity Board is to get new chairmen, a senior presidential aide told LBO. Gamini Wickremesinghe, the current Chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission would head the Bank of Ceylon, replacing Udayasri Kariyawasam who would be appointed as chairman of the Ceylon Electricity Board.

The current CEB chairman, W S Perera would be the new director general of the Public Enterprises Reform Commission.

The new chairman of Peoples’ Bank would be the current Employees Trust Fund Board chairman W Karunajeewa, replacing P A Kiriwandeniya.

Kiriwandeniya would be appointed as an advisor to the ministry of nation building.

No changes would be made to the National Savings Bank and State Mortgage and Investment Bank.

While the new appointees to the Bank of Ceylon and Peoples’ Bank had indicated their willingness to take up their posts, Kariyawasam is yet to accept his position, an official said.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments