Parliament Quotes

CEAT Kelani Holdings Managing Director Ravi Dadlani (right) and Lanka Ashok Leyland CEO Umesh Gautham exchange the OEM agreement

The Court of Appeal issued notice on two Sri Lankan members of Parliament, the Elections Commissioner and the Secretary General of the governing party on Monday.

A Writ Application filed by Sunanda Deshapriya, a Co-convenor of the Center for Monitoring Election Violence was heard on Monday.rn

rnThe Appeal Court, considering the petition issued notice on the Elections Commissioner, the UPFA General Secretary, Susil Premjayanth, and MPs Ratnasiri Wickramanayake and Wijayadasa Rajapakshe. rn

rnThe application challenges the right of Ratnasiri Wickramanayake and Wijayadasa Rajapakshe to occupy National List Seats of the UPFA.rn

rnThe petition is based on the fact that the two names were not included in the National List published in the Government Gazette before the April 2nd general election.rn

rnThe names were also not included in the Nomination Papers of the UPFA but they were appointed as MPs with two others from the National List dropping out.rn

rnThe practice adopted by the UPFA General

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments