Sri Lanka recall Kulasekera, Perera for first Test

June 19, 2012 (LBO) – Sri Lanka Cricket have recalled fast bowler Nuwan Kulasekera for the first Test against Pakistan that begins on Friday, a statement said. Selectors led by Asantha de Mel also picked allrounder Jeevan Mendis, left-arm fast bowler Chanaka Welegedara and bowler Nuwan Pradeep for the 15-man squad, Sri Lanka Cricket said Tuesday.

All-rounder Angelo Mathews was named vice-captain, replacing veteran batsman Thilan Samaraweera, who assisted during Sri Lanka’s last Test match against England in March this year.

However, bowlers Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad, Shaminda Eranga and batsman Lahiru Thirimane were left out of the squad.

Mendis, is yet to earn a Test cap.

The first Test begins on Friday in Galle. The teams return to Colombo for the second Test at the Sinhalese Sports Club grounds on June 30. Pallekele in Kandy will host the third Test from July 8.

Squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Angelo Mathews (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Tharanga Parnavithana, Kumar Sangakkara, Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Prasanna Jayawardene (wk), Chanaka Welagedara, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, Nu

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments