Sri Lanka to release new currency notes

Feb 27, 2008 (LBO) – Sri Lanka will release new currency notes under the signature of president Mahinda Rajapaksa, who is also the finance minister, and governor Nivard Cabraal, the Central Bank said.

This week the central bank invited ideas for a new series of notes.

A 1,000 rupee note with the new signature will be issued on March 03, followed by 2,000, 50, 20 and 10 rupee notes which will be dated July 2007.

Sri Lanka also has 500 and 100 rupee notes in circulation but they would be released later, the monetary authority said.

These notes will have serial prefixes and numbers P/31 000001 onwards for the 2000 rupee note; G/186 065001 onwards for the 1000 rupee note, K/280 192001 for the 50 rupee note and L/366 921001 for the 20 rupee note and M/552 515001 for the 10 rupee note.

The notes will be issued under the current ‘heritage’ theme which is the 10th series of notes.

Sri Lanka has been issuing notes under different themed on different aspects depicting the unique features of the island, unlike the practice of old monarchies which used the portrait of the sovereign.

However, the first two series after the creation of the central bank used King George VI and Queen Elizabeth II.

In 1962 the portrait of former prime minister SWRD Bandaranaike was used in a series, but the practice of using the portraits of politicians was then discontinued.