Sri Lanka Tourist Hotels Association elects Cooray as president

August 12, 2007 (LBO) – The Tourist Hotels Association of Sri Lanka has elected as its president Hiran Cooray of Jetwing Hotels, a tour operator with a chain of hotels that’s also promoting eco-tourism in a big way. Four vice presidents were also elected at the association’s annual general meeting representing different segments of the industry which is going through difficult times owing to a sharp downturn in arrivals caused by the escalating ethnic conflict.

They are Srilal Miththapala, head of Serendib Hotel, elected Vice President representing Resort Hotels, M Shanthikumar of Holiday Inn Hotel as Vice President representing City Hotels, Amal Goonetilleke of Taj Samudra, as Vice President representing General Interest and Siri Goonewardena of Coral Sands Hotel as Vice President representing Small Hotels.

Malin Hapugoda, head of Aitken Spence Hotels, one of the biggest hotel chains with resorts in Sri Lanka and the Maldives, and new ones in India, is the Immediate Past President of the association.

New committee members of the association are Amaya Lake, Bentota Beach Hotel, Club Palm Bay, Eden Hotel, Hotel Casamara, Kandalama Hotel, Renuka Hotel, Saman Villas, Suisse Hotel and Tangerine Beach Hotel.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments