Sri Lanka’s Dilshan to lead in Zimbabwe

May 20, 2010 (AFP) – Batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan has been appointed to lead the squad to Zimbabwe for a tri-nation one-day international series that also involves India, Sri Lanka Cricket said Thursday. Several senior players including captain Kumar Sangakkara, former skipper Mahela Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga and Sanath Jayasuriya, who had a dismal World Twenty20 tournament in the Caribbean, have been left out of the team.

Muttiah Muralitharan, the most successful bowler in history with a record 792 Test and 512 one-day international wickets, was not picked for the tour. Muralitharan is recovering from a groin injury.

All rounder Angelo Mathews will deputise for Dilshan, who is on his maiden stint as a captain for the one-day games.

The 15-member squad includes left-hand batsman Lahiru Thirimanne, who played two one-day games against Bangladesh in January, and uncapped allrounder Jeewan Mendis.

The selectors also included fast bowler Dilhara Fernando, opener Upul Tharanga and middle-order batsman Chamara Silva, who were left out of the World Twenty20 in the Caribbean.

The tri-nation series gets under way in Bulawayo on May 28, with Zimbabwe taking on India in the opener