Sri Lanka’s Sangakkara, Muralitharan win Castrol awards

CEAT Kelani Holdings Managing Director Ravi Dadlani (right) and Lanka Ashok Leyland CEO Umesh Gautham exchange the OEM agreement

June 27, 2008 (LBO) – Sri Lankan cricketers Kumar Sangakkara and Muttiah Muralitharan won the Castrol Asian Batsman and Bowler award in test cricket at a function held in Karachi Friday. India’s Sourav Ganguly became the first recipient of the Castrol Asian Cricketer of the Year Award, a company statement said.

“Ganguly has had a series of successful innings since his return to the Indian cricket team during the South African tour of 2006-07,” it said.

“For his outstanding batting performance during the year, Sourav also received the overall Castrol Asian Batsman of the Year Award.”

The statement said the overall Castrol Asian Bowler of the Year Award was won by Muttiah Muralitharan who also entered the record book in 2007, becoming the highest wicket taker in test matches.

The Castrol Asian Wicket Keeper / Fielder of the Year awards went to Kamran Akmal.

The Castrol Asian Awards are based on the Castrol Performance Index.

This is a points system which takes into consideration batting, bowling and fielding performances of each player against all teams in all international matches, in all three formats Test, ODIs and T20, during a calendar year.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments