Swann and Wright selected for Sri Lanka one-day series

LONDON, Sept 10, 2007 (AFP) – England have selected off-spinner Graeme Swann and all-rounder Luke Wright for their forthcoming one-day international tour of Sri Lanka. Paul Collingwood (Durham, capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Stuart Broad (Leicestershire), Alastair Cook (Essex), Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire), Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire), Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire), Matthew Prior (Sussex), Owais Shah (Middlesex), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Luke Wright (Sussex)

Swann has been recalled seven years after his last England appearance, while Wright, who made a half century on his debut against India last week, gets a further chance to impress.

Ravi Bopara and Ryan Sidebottom have both been named in the squad despite nagging injuries. Bopara has a thumb injury and Sidebottom is recovering from a side strain.
Chairman of selectors, David Graveney, said:

“The selectors were delighted with many aspects of the team’s performance against India including Paul Collingwood’s development as a captain, Ian Bell’s batting, the energy shown in the fie

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments