US economist Edmund S. Phelps wins Nobel Economics Prize

STOCKHOLM, Oct 9, 2006 (AFP) – US economist Edmund S. Phelps won the 2006 Nobel Economics Prize on Monday for work on trade-offs in macroeconomic policy, the Nobel jury said, noting that his work had improved understanding of how policy affected welfare for present and future generations.

List of
Nobel Economics Prize laureates

2006: Edmund S. Phelps (US)
2005: Thomas C. Schelling (US), Robert J. Aumann (US-Israel)
2004: Finn Kydland (Norway), Edward Prescott (US)
2003: Robert F. Engle (US), Clive W.J. Granger (Britain)
2002: Daniel Kahneman (Israel-US) and Vernon L. Smith (US)
2001: George Akerlof (US), A. Michael Spence (US), Joseph
Stiglitz (US)
2000: James Heckman (US), Daniel McFadden (US)
1999: Robert Mundell (Canada)
1998: Amartya Sen (India)
1997: Robert Merton (US), Myron Scholes (US)
1996: James Mirrlees (Britain), William Vickrey (US)
1995: Robert

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
© 2001-2017 Lanka Business Online (Pvt) Ltd. All rights reserved.
Designed by Lanka Business Online (Pvt) Ltd.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x