Welfare Cap

S M Tennakoon, a senior public official has been appointed as Chairman to the new Welfare Benefits Board.
Tennakoon functioned as the Government Agent in Matale and Kandy Districts and served later as Secretary to the Ministry of Mahaweli Development. rn

rnThe Finance Ministry says Tennakoon will also function as the Boards Commissioner.rn

rnOther Board members include Dita Wimalasiri (former Ministry Secretary of Public Reforms), M M Munsoor (former member of the Public Service Commission) T P G N Leelaratne (former Secretary, Ministry of Commerce & Consumer Affairs) and K C Logeswaran (advisor to the Finance Ministry).rn

rnThe new law gives legal muscle to administer the government welfare schemes and sets up a transparent selection process to identify suitable beneficiaries.rn




Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments