West Indies win toss, field against Sri Lanka

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, April 3, 2008 (AFP) – West Indies won the toss and chose to field on the opening day of the second and final Test against Sri Lanka on Thursday at Queen’s Park Oval. West Indies have made two changes to their line-up, bringing in left-handed opener Sewnarine Chattergoon and fast bowler Fidel Edwards to replace injured left-handed batsman Ryan Hinds and left-arm spin bowler Sulieman Benn.
buy diflucan online buy diflucan online no prescription

Chattergoon becomes the 289th player to wear the Maroon Cap for West Indies in Tests.

Sri Lanka have also made two changes to their side. They included batsman Chamara Silva for injured wicketkeeper/batsman Prasanna Jayawardene and fast bowler Ishara Amerasinghe for left-arm spin bowler Rangana Herath.

Sri Lanka lead the series 1-0 after they won the opening Test at the Guyana National Stadium by 121 runs.

If they win the Test, Sri Lanka would confirm their first Test series win on Caribbean soil and also become the first side visiting the Caribbean to sweep a Test series of any length.


West Indies: Chris Gayle (capt), Devon Smith, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Jerom

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments