Sri Lanka ruling party wins 144 seats

Apr 21, 2010 (LBO) – Sri Lanka’s ruling United People’s Freedom Alliance of President Mahinda Rajapaksa has won 144 seats just six seats short of a two thirds majority while the main opposition trailed with 60 seats, final results show. The ruling coalition won a re-poll yesterday in Kandy in central Sri Lanka and the Northeastern Trincomalee district. In Kandy it won eight seats and the opposition United National Front won four.

The Tamil National Party has won 12 seats and the Democratic National Alliance led by retired general Sarath Fonseka won 7 seats.

UPFA’s Mahindananda Aluthgamage (146,765), Keheliya Ramukwelle (133,060), SB Dissanayake (108,169), Lohan Ratwatte (81,812), Erik Weerawardena (54,195), Dilum Amunugama (45,909), Fizer Mustapha (44,648) and Sarath Amunugama (44,478) were elected under the preference voting system in Kandy.

Abdul Cader (54,937), Rauf Hakeem (54,047), Lakshman Kiriella (53,690) and MHM Haleem (46,240) were elected from the UNP.

In Trincomalee the UPFA won two seats, with Susantha Punchinilame getting 22,820 preferences and MDKS Gunawardena 19,734. The UNF won one with MS Thawfeek getting 23,588 prefernces.

The Tamil National Alliance’s R Sampanthan received 24,488 preference